Live Chat Software by UCS eSupport
Knowledgebase
Photoshop error could not save “file” because write access was not granted’.
Posted by UCS IT Support 4 on 10 December 2010 11:00 AM

Symptom:

A Photoshop error occurs when saving a file to an Apple File Protocol (AFP) network share. Error – ‘Photoshop could not save “file” because write access was not granted’.

Steps to Reproduce:

  1. Open a Photoshop file from the server
  2. Choose Save from the File menu
  3. The message Error – ‘Photoshop could not save “file” because write access was not granted’ is displayed
  4. If the user selects “Save” – the file is purged from the server
  5. If the user selects “Save As” and keeps the same filename – the operation usually succeeds (if it fails the file is purged from the server)
  6. If the user selects “Save As” and enters a unique filename – the operation will succeed

Cause:

When Photoshop saves a document, it deletes the current file, creates a new blank file with the same name, and then attempts to open the new file for writing. Finally, it writes the image being saved to the new file. If any part of this process fails, the original file is lost.

The most common way this error is triggered, is if one user is saving a document while a second user is browsing through the same folder where the document is being saved. The problem happens because when the Finder reads a file to create a preview, a write lock is placed on the file so that it cannot be changed while it is being read. Due to this write lock by the second user the first user is unable to save changes to the file that they just created. Although the timing has to be just right, with many users browsing the directory, the issue can occur frequently.

This error is reproducible against any file server using either AFP or SMB – it does not specifically relate to ExtremeZ-IP. Theoretically the same error can occur even when saving a file locally. You can also trigger the error by having a second Mac browsing for a file in Photoshop or another application’s open dialog.

Workaround:

There is not much that can be done other than reattempting the save, using “Save as” with a unique filename, or saving locally and then copying to the server.

It is a good idea (although maybe not feasible depending on the environment) to avoid having more than one user working on files in the same folder. Photoshop has a number of problems when saving over a network and this is just one you may encounter. Adobe specifically does not support saving over the network. Adobe has a product called Version Cue specifically for managing shared files and file versioning.

Fix:

There is no fix at this time. See workaround.

(4 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
CAPTCHA Verification 
 
Please enter the text you see in the image into the textbox below (we use this to prevent automated submissions).